MOTION CONCERNING ELECTION PROCEDURE MADE TO THE AL-ANON FALL 1985 ASSEMBLY

The Virginia Area Assembly shall follow the election guidelines outlined in the current World Service Handbook with the following exceptions:

- 1. At the district level, in order for the District Representative (DR) to enjoy the experience of having served as a Group Representative (GR) and in order to avoid the double tasks of serving as both GR and DR at the same time, the DR shall be elected, whenever possible, from among the outgoing GRs in that district and shall serve for the next three years; this process is recommended by the Virginia Assembly and is subject to district approval.
- 2. At the assembly level, in order for the area officers in service, namely the World Service Delegate, the Area Chairperson, the Area Secretary, and the Area Treasurer, and in addition, the Alternate Delegate, to enjoy the experience of having served as DR and to avoid the double tasks of serving as officer and DR at the same time, these persons shall be elected from among the present outgoing DRs and from previous DRs or previous area officers provided they are currently active Al-Anon members at the group level. As provided in the WS Handbook, Delegates may not succeed themselves, but may be re-elected after an interim three-year period.

The remaining alternate officers, namely the Alternate Chairperson, the Alternate Secretary and the Alternate Treasurer shall be elected from the present outgoing DRs, the newly-elected incoming DRs, previous DRs or previous area officers, provided they are currently active Al-Anon members at the group level.

These exceptions to the election procedure of the <u>WS Handbook</u> adopted by the 1985 Fall Assembly shall be used for elections in the Virginia Area Assembly unless changed and agreed upon by a two-thirds vote of a subsequent assembly.

As detailed in the "Election Assembly Procedure" section of the <u>WS Handbook</u>, the election procedure from the Handbook and these exceptions shall be reviewed by the Chairperson to the Assembly prior to the Election.

Passed by Va. Fall Assembly October 19, 1985